My Personal Style Journey

Please enjoy my past fashion embarrassments with me.

Childhood

All I can remember about my wardrobe from age 10 and under is:

  • The day in kindergarten that I wanted to wear black and white checkered pants with a black and white striped shirt, and my mom wouldn’t let me
    • As far as I was concerned, the colors were the same so clearly it matched.
  • The Eeyore overalls my mother let me wear to my first day of soccer camp in fifth grade
    • It’s quite apparent that neither I nor my mother was “sporty” by any means, as I wore one of the least athletically-designed outfits known to man. At least I wore the right shoes, as far as I know.

Other than that, I’m sure I wore stetchy-type pants and various character shirts. It only got worse from there. I know a lot of what I wore was hand-me-downs from family friends, so there’s no way it was stylish.

Middle School

Middle school was a rough time for me. I had moved to a new district in sixth grade, I didn’t know anyone, and everyone’s family was extremely well-off and wore brands that I had never heard of before, like Aeropostale, Hollister, and Abercrombie.

I was miserable. I was the fat kid with clothes that weren’t cool. All I would wear for as long as I can remember is sweatpants and hoodies, because that was the most acceptable wardrobe that my parents could afford.

My mom finally realized that I had only been wearing a couple outfits, and took the little money she had left after bills to take me shopping for some “cool” clothes. That was the one time I felt like my mom had my back growing up.

I was lucky enough that my aunt bought me whatever shoes I wanted for my birthday every year, and I always got the Adidas ones with the three stripes on the sides, because those were the cool shoes of my middle school days. At least I had that going for me.

High School

High school was about the same, except I found some jeans that I would actually wear. Hoodies and T-shirts were basically the norm at my school at that point, so all I had to worry about was finding plain ones that wouldn’t make it obvious that they weren’t from Hollister.

I was oblivious to the world of fashion until I started reading Cosmo, but it didn’t even matter then. Those big city trends were not coming to small-town Michigan. Except for the Ugg boots, which, of course, I did not own. A friend of mine had an off-brand pair that she let me wear for a week in exchange for my Etnies, aka the only “cool” thing I ever wore prior to age 18.

College

Just when I thought I couldn’t look like more of a bum, I went to college. I spent the majority of my freshmen year wearing pajama pants and hoodies to class. I had no friends and no life, so I had no reason to wear anything nice or trendy. I honestly couldn’t even tell you what the trends were that year, except I’m sure it was stuff that I couldn’t afford.

Slowly through the years, though, I did become more interested in and less ignorant of fashion and trends. I started getting into skinny jeans and scarves, and all of the flowy tops that were a big deal. I bought some Keds when those came back in, and I started wearing leggings. That was basically the extent of my fashun-forwardness, mostly because of my lack of funds.

I did rock a couple high-low dresses at my sorority formals, and I looked pretty all right, if I do say so myself.

Adult Life

My work wardrobe currently consists of:

  • Pixie pants
  • Flats
  • Sweaters
  • Scarves
  • Cardigans
  • Flowy tops

Not the most exciting or fashion forward, but I seem to keep up okay with the other girls at work.

Outside of work, I stick to the yoga pants and T-shirts. What can I say? I go for comfort, not style.

This post was inspired by Rebecca’s post on From Roses of the same title. I have recently discovered her blog and I think she’s so fabulous. 

Leave a Reply

