Day 5: 3 Personality Traits that I’m Proud of

1) I am able to find the silver lining in almost any situation.

I’ve been dealing with a lot of shit in my personal life, especially in the past year. The biggest thing I learned from hitting rock bottom is to always focus on the positive.

I missed the bus one day after work, which was the last bus of the night that would take me to where I needed to go, I got stuck in a torrential downpour of rain and was soaked from head to toe, my phone was dead, and I was sitting in the lobby of my work crying and waiting for my dad to make the 30 minute drive to pick me up. And this was after one of the worst days at work I’d had up to that point, including forgetting my lunch at home and going to buy lunch only to see that my bank account over-drafted.

I was feeling pretty sorry for myself and was throwing myself a pity party, when I reminded myself to stop being such a downer and find something to be thankful for: I was able to get a ride home, I would have a warm dinner waiting for me when I got home, and I would have clean clothes to change into. Not many people have those small things that always get taken for granted.

Moral of the story – I eventually got home, changed, ate, went to bed, and woke up the next morning with what is now the funny story of me crying in the lobby at work.

2) I give all that I can to the people I care about.

This is a gift and a curse.

I am extremely loyal to my friends and family, so much so that it can potentially be used against me. If someone needs something – whether it be $5, help with homework, or a meal – I am the first to volunteer. It hurts me to see someone hurting or in need, and even though I often have very little to give, I give what I can until I literally cannot give anymore.

3. I don’t mind laughing at myself.

I like to think of this as my best quality. 

I’m the first to admit several things about myself: I am a bigger klutz than anyone I know, I say really weird shit, and I do some creepy things sometimes. But I can always laugh at myself no matter how weird, or creepy, or clumsy I get.

I run into dozens of things in a day, and always laugh about it. If I creep on someone’s Instagram back to 2012, I’ll laugh about it (as creep and psychopathic as that sounds). If I say something that I think is funny, I will laugh until I cry, even if I’m the only one laughing.

I try not to take life too seriously, and laughing at myself and making a fool of myself is the best way to go.

Leave a Reply

