Day 12: Favorite Quote

sophie

I have many favorite quotes, but this is my current #1.

I got it from my quote of the day calendar that sits on my desk at work. I hung it up on my cubicle half-wall after that, and I read it over every day.

Coming from someone who did a pretty good job of fucking up her life, it’s a pretty moving phrase. I had hit my version of rock bottom — I was losing friends, my personal relationships were falling apart, it looked like I wouldn’t be able to finish school, I was literally gaining more and more debt every day, and I had to move back in with my parents.

My world was crumbling in around me and it felt like I would never be able to get back on my feet. But after a few months, the pieces of my life finally started getting put back together.

It turns out that Sophie was right. Life has a way of holding itself together, even the tiniest, minuscule amount,  when you think there’s nothing holding you together anymore. 

I think it’s a great thing to keep in mind whenever you’re struggling or you hit a rough patch. Life can get hard, but you can always put the pieces back together.

 

Leave a Reply

