Day 15: My Dream Job

This is something that has changed quite a bit throughout my life:

  • Teacher
  • Astronomer
  • Marine Biologist
  • Spirit animal to Christiane Amanpour
  • Editor of Seventeen
  • Travel blogger
  • Sorority adviser

It was only recently that I figured out what I really wanted to do: plan events and fundraisers for a nonprofit organization.

Event planning was always something that sounded really cool, but I never knew exactly how I would go about making a career out of it. Last year, I ended up getting an event planning internship with a Michigan-based nonprofit, and I immediately fell in love with both the organization and the job.

As an intern, you never get to do anything really exciting. My first two weeks on the job, I had to cut out over 50 paper snowflakes. Clearly nothing glamorous. But I loved it.

I was able to help plan and execute large fundraisers with hundreds of people and a thousand-dollar budget, and also do some smaller events with 50 people and $100 to spend. The budget and the guest list wasn’t what was important – it was the impact that the event and the organization made on the community.

That was when I truly fell in love with event planning and the nonprofit sector. I would love to devote my time to helping an organization with a strong mission, by getting the word out and trying to raise money for a great cause. The job would never be about money, seeing as nonprofit staff members don’t make a lot of money (unless you’re part of an international organization). It would be about knowing that you’re making a difference in your community for someone that needs it.

In addition to that, I wouldn’t mind doing some freelance event planning on the side, weddings, birthday parties, small fundraisers, things like that.

Leave a Reply

