The Wedding Gift Dilemma

I’ll be honest – weddings are one of my least favorite things in the world.

I don’t particularly believe in marriage, so I don’t really want to celebrate the marriage of others; it seems a tad hypocritical to me. Plus, I have to find something fancy to wear, sit through a ceremony that is usually boring and often long, and mingle with people I don’t like.

And then there’s the gift. I’m not a very good gift giver, though I love watching someone open a present and see the joy on their face. Weddings are a different story though. Do you go the easy route and just pick something off the registry, or do you go rogue and find something completely random and hope the couple likes it? What do you do when you don’t have any money to buy a gift?

My current dilemma: my oldest friend from high school is getting married, I can’t go to the wedding because of work, and I have no money to buy a gift.

So, like any millennial would do, I took to Pinterest.

There are hundreds of amazing homemade wedding gift ideas, and if I had a couple extra bucks in my wallet, I’d be all over that shit. But my budget is legitimately $5 for this gift. Luckily, I found something that I can make, is actually pretty cute, and allowed me to stay under budget!

I found the fonts free online and printed it out at work. I wasn’t super thrilled about the white background, but I was not about to go buy a pack of colored paper. I bought a little package of burlap sheets from Walmart for $3.00, and ended up splurging a little for a nicer frame at Walmart for $4.00.

wrgerhejh

All in all, I think it came together pretty well, all things considered!

Leave a Reply

