Time for a Change: My Journey to Health and Happiness

I’ve been feeling kind of down about my body lately, which isn’t something that I’ve felt in a couple months. I was always one of the biggest kids at school, and I struggled with my self-esteem for a long time. I still do.

The past couple of months that I’ve been with my boyfriend, however, I haven’t been feeling so bad about my body. He makes me feel some kind of way, like I’m on top of world and everything is perfect. For once in my life, I haven’t walked into a room and felt instantly self-conscious, like everyone was staring at me because of my weight. I would just walk into a room and be.

Feeling like that has been amazing… But that feeling is slowly disappearing. I’m having more and more moments where all I can focus on is my weight and how I look and what other people think of me. It doesn’t help that everywhere I look, people are posting on social media about all of the weight they’ve lost. One of my nearest and dearest friends has lost over 80 pounds, and I could not be prouder of her and all of her hard work! I hate to admit it, but I’m jealous.

With the way my life is going, it’s hard for me to fully commit to a healthy lifestyle. I know that makes me sound lazy and that I’m just making excuses, and maybe I am. I have been doing as much as I can – going on walks, sometimes twice a day; trying not drink as much coffee; not buying as many snacks at the store. But with my schedule, by the time I get home from work, I’m too tired to cook or work out. I so badly want a gym membership, but there’s no room in my budget for it.

It’s time for me to buckle down and really get serious. May is going to be a month of change. A friend convinced me to set an insane goal of 6.5 miles a day, so that’s what we’re doing. I’ll start with walking, but I want to get into jogging/running, so I’m determined to do a Couch to 5K program. I’m also going to make my own low-sugar coffee creamer, as well as simple salad dressing. For each week during May, I’m going to slowly decrease the amount of sugar and carbohydrates that I eat, since those are my two worst areas that I want to improve. I’m also going to try to weed out the bad foods that I snack on, and focus on fruits and vegetables.

I’m concerned about my grocery budget, as I’m already cutting it close as it is, but I know I’m going to have to splurge a little to get the foods that I need to make these changes. I know it will benefit me in the long run.

I know this isn’t going to be easy, and I don’t want to be too hard on myself since I know this will take a lot of work. I’m hoping to have a strong support system in my family and friends to get me through. And I’m definitely going to try to blog about my journey as much as can, because I know that venting/getting my thoughts out will help tremendously. wsferestg

Image courtesy of Her Campus

If anyone can give me some support, tips, or tricks, feel free to send them my way. 

One thought on “Time for a Change: My Journey to Health and Happiness

Leave a Reply

