Off to a good (decent) start!

Day 1 of my journey started off strong. I had already decided to get Starbucks at work as a last hurrah, so I made the executive decision to skip my usual home brew and, instead, fill up my water bottle for my commute to work.

One thing that I am definitely proud of is how much water I’ve been drinking. I have at least 50 ounces of water every day, including the 8 ounces I drink right when I wake up in the morning.

My body just felt better after drinking water first thing in the morning. I’m an avid coffee drinker and am convinced of its miraculous powers, but I can’t deny that the water made me feel instantly awake and alert, and I kept that feeling for a while.

I also have gotten an insane amount of exercise in the past couple days. Like I said in my last post, my friend and I set a goal of walking 6.5 miles every day, which I have over-achieved so far this week.

  • Sunday: 7.2 miles
  • Monday: 7.5 miles
  • Tuesday: 7.8 miles

I’ve basically been a zombie the past three days, but it’s been so entirely worth it.

I’ve also [mostly] reached my carb and sugar goals. This week my goals are to stay under 80 grams of sugar a day and 200 grams of carbs a day. It’s not as easy as you think, but also not as difficult as I convinced myself it would be.

I told myself I would have one “free meal” a week, mostly because I have dinner at a family friend’s house every Monday, so tracking it would be difficult. Overall, I did pretty well – I ate a good amount of salad, with little dressing, and a good amount of chicken. But I lost it when I got to the cheesy garlic bread. I definitely stayed under my sugar goal, but the carbs won this round.

I know it can only go up from here. I’m going grocery shopping tonight, and I already have a menu planned out for the next couple of days. I’m going to be focusing on high-protein, low-carb, and low-sugar foods and meals to get me by!

Leave a Reply

