Don’t Hide Your Feelings Because of Someone Else

This is a rant that I’m sure many people will disagree with. I welcome your thoughts, debates, and opinions, but I ask that you be respectful of my thoughts and the thoughts of others.

Something that I can find irritating is when people say “I was stressed about xyz, but when I heard about abc, I stopped worrying about my problems.”

You’re allowed to be stressed about problems, regardless of how minuscule they may seem compared to the problems of someone else.

Yes, it is important to put yourself in the shoes of others, such as the victims of a terrorist attack or families who lost their homes from forest fires. It’s very important to take those situations and put your life into perspective, to realize how good you have it because your family is safe and sound and you still have your home and all of your belongings.

Does that mean you shouldn’t be stressed out about a big presentation you have coming up at work? No. Does it mean you shouldn’t be upset about your recent breakup, that your dog ran away, or even that $5 fell out of your pocket? No.

If something is important to you, you should absolutely have emotions invested in it. You should absolutely be stressed, angry, hurt, happy about whatever is going on in your life. Your problems still matter.

I’m not saying to ignore what is going on in other parts of the world and just carry on with your life while being ignorant. I’m saying to feel what you feel and don’t feel bad about it, but also be mindful of anyone else that might be going to through a hard time. Try to understand how they might be feeling. Send positive vibes, pray, donate, whatever you feel you can and should do to help others that may be dealing with something.

I’ll be the first to admit that I can come across as a cold-hearted person, but that doesn’t mean I’m going to lessen my situation because of what is happening to someone else. If there is a tragedy, which sadly seems to be happening much too often as of late, I have nothing but compassion and sympathy for those affected.

End rant.

Leave a Reply

