Summer 2016 Bucket List

I have many bucket lists in my life: before I turn 30, before I die, and of course, one every summer. With summer fast approaching, I figured it was about time to make one for 2016.

I’m a big believer in bucket lists. I used to think they were morbid, mostly because of the movie, and also because it’s a list of what you want to do before you die. What’s more depressing than that? But now I look at them as a way to better yourself and to make memories.

I like to have several bucket lists for various stages of my life; I find that it’s more attainable that way. And there’s certain things I know I won’t be able to do until I’m older, such as travel, so seeing that on a bucket list to complete by the time I’m 30 can seem a little discouraging. But that’s just me.

My goals for summer 2016:

Walk 800 miles

walk

My friend and I are basically obsessed with setting insane mileage goals every summer. This summer it happens to be 800 miles. We started on May 1, and I’m about 11% of the way there with around 95 miles! As long as I get 200 miles/month May through August, I should be fine.

Complete a Couch to 5K

I’ve been wanting to do this for a while now, and I’m hoping that my healthy lifestyle makeover will encourage me to finally do it!

Catch up on my reading goal

t5rfgbhu rt5uy

In January, I set a goal to read 36 books in 2016. That ends up being 3 books a month, which I have no been doing. The year is almost halfway over, and I’ve only read 7 books, with another 3 in the process of being read. I want to catch up so that I can start the fall with the right amount of books.

Follow my progress and see what I’m reading!

Go on a local coffee tasting tour

There’s a couple of new coffee shops that have opened up in my area in the past couple months, and I’ve been dying to check them out! I definitely want to get in on the coffee action and see how these places are.

Love Detroit

This includes going to the Detroit Zoo, Detroit Institute of Arts, Detroit Historical Museum, Henry Ford Museum, and Greenfield Village. I also want to spend more time on the river front because it’s a beautiful and amazing place to be.

gm

 

Go on a picnic

There’s a cute little park right by my house that overlooks the lake, and it’s the perfect place for a picnic. Bae has also been bugging me since last summer to go on a picnic, so it’s definitely time!

Spend more time outside

Clearly, I will be doing this by walking so much, but I also want to be outside just to enjoy it and get fresh air. I am very anti-summer for several reasons: I hate being hot, I’m allergic to suncreen, I sunburn extremely easily, and skin cancer runs in my family. But I know that being outside is good for me, as long as I’m careful.

Even if I just sit outside for a little bit to read with the pup like I did the other day.

outside

Leave a Reply

