May in Review

It’s hard to believe May is over! It feels like it just started, but I am ready for June.

Here’s a look at May’s highs and lows:


Highs 

I started the Beyond Diet and am now going on week 4 of it

chicken
After this last week of following a menu plan, I will be on my own to set my menu and plan my meals. The only guidelines are to have a certain number of carbs, fat, and protein for each meal and snack, and of course, to follow the rules of clean eating. There are a ton of recipes that I can follow, so that will be helpful.

I’ve been feeling really good about myself through this past month, and I know it can only go up from here.

I’ve been walking like crazy

I have been doing pretty good on keeping up with my miles, but I did have a couple of short days here and there. During May, I walked 184.5 miles! I was hoping to get to 200, to make it easier on myself for the rest of the summer, but I got as close as I could and I’m proud of that. I’m ready to kick June off with a bang!

I lost 9 pounds!

Because of my clean eating and my insane amount of walking, I have lost 9 pounds! It’s a small start but I am nonetheless thrilled with the results. It’s reaffirming to see that my hard work is paying off, and it’s getting me pumped to continue on this journey!

I finished paying off some of my debt

Last summer, my best friend [at the time] lent me a couple hundred dollars to cover the rent for our apartment that I couldn’t pay. Because I wasn’t working May 2015 – January 2016, there was literally no way I could pay her back. So she threatened to take me to small claims court over it. Our friendship was pretty much already over at this point, due to various other circumstances, but this was the last straw. This past week, I finally sent the last payment to her and it feels amazing. I still have a lot of other debts to people close to me, but it feels great to have one paid off and not have to worry about it ever again. And also, to be rid of her forever.

 

Lows

I’m behind on my student loans after 2 months

The day I dreaded finally came: the day I had to make my first payment on my student loans. I made it through the first month okay, but now I am behind on my payments. I’m really upset that it only took a month for me to fall behind, because I thought my budget was working out pretty well. But I’ve been spending twice what I normally do on groceries since I started clean eating, so there goes my loan money.

I’m hoping this week I can save a little on groceries since I have a good backstock going, and try to catch up on my loan payments.

My boyfriend is still unemployed

May was month #4 of Anthony not working, and it’s getting more and more stressful for me with every passing day.

Luckily he doesn’t have any bills, as we live with his dad for free, and his friend works for a phone carrier and so he gets a hookup with his phone. But I have been buying groceries for both of us, which adds up as clean eating is expensive, plus I buy whatever food he wants. But his dad is getting fed up with him not working and I’m worried we won’t be welcome there much longer if he doesn’t get a job soon, leaving us with nowhere to go. Me literally because my family is essentially homeless.

Love this sleepy guy to death, but something has to change. I even made a rule that he can’t hang out with his friends until he applies for a couple jobs.

sleepy

Work has been rough

Work has been extremely stressful lately, for a couple of reasons. A couple of coworkers have mysteriously disappeared, with no reason from anyone of authority. So we don’t know if they quit, were fired, left for another job, whathaveyou. It’s scary to know that you could just be gone one day with little to no notice.

We’ve also had an influx of customers chatting in, which is actually really great. But it’s more work on all of us, almost to the point of being overworked, at least for me. The main point of customer service is to provide an excellent experience for the customer, and when I can’t do that because I’m stretched too thin, I’m very hard on myself.

Additionally, I’ve come to realize that I don’t have any work friends. Not that it would be convenient for me to hang out with them outside of work, but it’s nice to have people to talk to throughout the day.

Since my desk has been moved, I realized I don’t really have anyone to talk to. I used to sit in a corner with people I talked to every day, and thought I was close to, but since I moved across the room, they don’t talk to me, or even say hi. And now I’m sitting with a new group of people, who also don’t talk to me. I try to include myself in their conversations, but I’m usually just talked over because they’re all SO extroverted and I’m the complete opposite.

 

May was a little tough to get through, but I’m extremely excited to see what June has in store for me: My birthday and hopefully a continuation of this beautiful weather!

june

 

Leave a Reply

