2016 Goal Check-In


It’s halfway through 2016, so I thought it would be a good time to check in on how my goals for the year are going. I didn’t have my blog when I made these goals in January so I didn’t post about them on here, but I did post about them on The List App [link] so clearly they’re legit.

Here’s a recap of my goals:
Pay off my debt
Move into an apartment
Be healthy
Read more books
Save some money
Try therapy
Journal
Spend more time with the people I love
Volunteer
Participate in a book club

So far, I’m doing okay on my goals. Getting halfway through the year really put my goals into perspective. Things that seemed attainable in January don’t really look that way any more. Though there are a couple things that I have been doing pretty well on.

As of today, I have lost 16 pounds since May 1, so I like to think I’ve been becoming healthier. I’ve been clean eating, getting at least 10,000 steps every day, and drinking more water.


I am so close to paying off my debt that I can taste it, not including my student loans. I owe money from bills that I wasn’t able to pay when I was unemployed, and to a couple people that lent me money. I’m about 75% of the way through paying that off, and it feels amazing. It can be stressful at times, and it’s frustrating that it can’t just all go away, but it does feel good to be able to take care of it.

I started out the year a little slow on my reading goal, but I have been doing a lot better lately and am catching up to my goal of 3 books a month! Going off of this, I have been trying so very hard to get involved in a book club online, as that is the most convenient for me, but it’s not easy to stay motivated. There’s also not a lot of people that participate, so it doesn’t really make me want to join in. I’m hoping that maybe I can find a book club in my town that I can join, maybe sponsored by the library or something.

I have looked into volunteering remotely with a couple of nonprofit organizations, but that didn’t seem to work out. Given my lack of transportation and my alternative work schedule, it can be difficult to find volunteer opportunities. This can be a realistic goal if I go about it the right way and am completely dedicated to it, and I think it’s something that I need to work on and look into more.

Journaling is a very broad term, and I did that on purpose. I didn’t want to limit myself or limit my journaling channels. Blogging is definitely a form of journaling, and though I haven’t blogged as much as I’d like, it’s been a great channel for me to get my thoughts out. Even if I’m not writing about what’s on my mind, writing in general helps to clear my head.

I have looked into various therapists in my area, and have a list of potential doctors, but I haven’t been able to commit yet. It has a lot to do with scheduling conflicts, transportation, and having to pay a co-pay when I go, which I can’t afford. I also don’t feel like I need it as much; overall, things have been going better in my life and I don’t feel as much need to get help. We shall see how the year goes on.
To spend more time with the people I love is also a general goal. How much time is enough? I guess enough to make my heart feel full. It’s hard for me to spend time with my friends since most of them live an hour away and they work during the week when I have time off. I’m not super close to my family, but I spend enough time with them to get me by. I spend a lot of time with Anthony’s family, who I have adopted as my own, and that’s probably where I feel the most at home.


Saving money has been extremely difficult; I don’t have any money at the end of my paychecks. But I’m hoping that by the end of the year, I’ll have some sort of savings developed, no matter how small.

Regardless of my financial struggles, I was sure I would be able to afford my own apartment by the end of 2016. With each passing day, it is becoming more real that it’s not going to happen. But at this point in my life, I’m just thankful that I have a roof over my head.

I’m looking forward to what the rest of 2016 has in store for me.

What are your goals for 2016?

How are you doing on reaching them?

One thought on “2016 Goal Check-In

Leave a Reply

